Just witnessed another arrest.

11 Dec

Around 10:45PM tonight I heard “COPWATCH!!! CAMERAS!!!” being yelled from the 3rd Ave and B St intersection in front of Civic Center, and I ran up to see three of my friends sitting on the curb, surrounded by police. No one knew why they were being detained. The cops didn’t seem to have good answers for that either. My three friends repeatedly asked why they were being detained and were given the runaround. Patrick became angry and demanded answers. Apparently the female police officer had slammed him to the floor before I got there. He asked  why he was being detained. Drunk in public was the only reason we were given why Patrick went to jail tonight. This didn’t explain why he was slammed to the ground. It didn’t explain why his wrists and arms were wrenched while he was being handcuffed. It certainly didn’t explain why he was kicked in the car. But it does explain one thing: Occupy San Diego protesters are blatantly targeted by the police.

This is a statement from Cliff, who was one of the Occupiers detained by the police:

“I got off of the 5th Avenue trolley stop with Patrick and Jack, and was walking towards Occupy when the cops stopped me by the public restrooms. They literally grabbed me, Pat and Jack, and they sat us on the corner. They said there was a claim that bottles and objects were thrown off of a roof. We were being sat down because we were coming from the same direction at “the same time a call was brought in”. They asked me my name, where I’d been tonight, which belongings were mine, and who I was with. I do not think Patrick was arrested lawfully. We were targeted for being occupiers. ” Here is the video:

Oh and it’s been 142 hours since I’ve eaten. Can I have my apology now Chief Landsdowne?

5 Responses to “Just witnessed another arrest.”

  1. Crystal Williams December 11, 2011 at 7:53 am #

    Absolutely inexcusable! That was clearly unnescessary force for obviously no just cause! How many more arrests, indeed, Patrick? A very good question, for sure. I am disgusted.

    • sungod December 11, 2011 at 12:06 pm #

      Thank you for posting my video so fast! That’s my voice over the cops asking what the charges were and informing our Occupy friends of their right to not be unlawfully detained if they are not under arrest, which this cunny cop repeatedly says they weren’t, yet she also said that they were still not allowed to leave… wtf? Even with some drinks, Patrick did a better job under the circumstances than most people would and I am so glad I caught this all on camera.

      -Ryan Anderson//Sungod Photo/Design =)

      • occupyfast December 11, 2011 at 8:47 pm #

        Great job getting that video. It was really dark so my camera phone didn’t catch the cops twisting his arms and kicking him in the car nearly as well as you did. Thank you so much for coming to occupy with your camera. You help keep us safe 🙂

  2. James Files December 11, 2011 at 4:33 pm #

    Solidarity from Poca WV. Passing the word.

    • occupyfast December 11, 2011 at 8:47 pm #

      Thank you! You are wonderful 🙂 We are all in this together friend.

Leave a Reply

